

Council and committee membership

Outcome requested:	Governance Committee is asked to:
	[a] approve the second term of office for Celia Gough;
	[b] note the updates to Council and committee membership.
Executive Summary:	[a] The Committee is asked to approve Celia Gough's second term on Council as a Drapers' Nominee to 31 August 2024.
	[b] The Committee is asked to note the following membership updates:
	i. Following the resignation of Talhah Atcha as President of the Queen Mary Students' Union in March, Megan Annetts has stepped up to the role of Acting President and has joined Council and Finance and Investment Committee as a member. QMSU VP (Welfare) Shamima Akter has been in attendance at Council as the second QMSU representative.
	 Ade Adefulu has joined Finance and Investment Committee to fill the vacancy left by Dr Véronique Bouchet from January 2020.
	iii. Stella Hall has joined the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee.
	iv. Simona Fionda has been appointed as a co-opted member to Audit and Risk Committee from January 2020 to fill the vacancy left by Nadim Choudhury. Following the appointment of Melissa Tatton to Council, there remains one vacancy for a co-opted member on the Committee.
	v. The first term of Sarah Cowls as the non-academic staff member is due to end on 01 September 2020. An election is currently being held with the ballot closing on 15 July. 11 nominations were received.
QMUL Strategy:	Effective governance supports the achievement of all strategic aims.
Internal/External regulatory/statutory reference points:	QMUL Charter and Ordinances
Strategic Risks:	N/A

Equality Impact Assessment:	N/A
Subject to prior and onward consideration by:	N/A
Confidential paper under FOIA/DPA	No.
Timing:	Governance Committee are provided with an update at each meeting.
Author:	Nadine Lewycky, Assistant Registrar (Governance)
Date:	29 June 2020
Senior Management/External Sponsor	Jonathan Morgan, Chief Governance Officer and University Secretary

Council and Committee Membership

Update on Council membership

- 1. The Committee is asked to **approve** Celia Gough's second term as a Drapers' Nominee to Council to 31 August 2024.
- 2. The Committee is asked to note the other following changes to Council membership:
 - a) Following the resignation of Talhah Atcha as President of the Queen Mary Students' Union in March 2020, the acting President, Megan Annetts has joined Council and Finance and Investment Committee as a member. Shamima Akter, QMSU VP (Welfare), has been in attendance at Council since March as the second QMSU representative.
 - b) Sarah Cowls's first term of office as the Non-academic staff member is due to end 01 September 2020. An election is underway with the ballot closing on 15 July. 11 nominations were received.

Update on Committee membership

- 3. Ade Adefulu was appointed to Finance and Investment Committee following the end of Véronique Bouchet's term of office in December 2019.
- 4. Simona Fionda has been appointed to Audit and Risk Committee as a co-opted member to fill the vacancy following the end of Nadim Choudhury's term. Simona is an expert in risk, holding the role of Chief Risk Officer at the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. The appointment is for four years in the first instance from January 2020 with the option for a second term. As Melissa Tatton is now a full member of the Committee, there remains one vacancy for a co-opted member. Work is ongoing to recruit a professional accountant to the role.
- 5. Stella Hall has been appointed to the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee following the departure of Dr Véronique Bouchet.

Upcoming Council vacancies

- 6. The following terms are due to end in 2021:
 - a) Tim Clement-Jones as Chair will end on 30 April 2021. The Charter provides for a second term of office.
 - b) Bushra Nasir's second term of office will end on 31 August 2021.
 - c) Peter Thompson's first term of office will end on 29 November 2021. The Charter provides for a second term of office.
 - d) David Willis's second term of office will end on 31 December 2021.
- 7. The Committee is also asked to **note** that the second term of office of the Treasurer, Luke Savage, will end on 31 January 2022. It is **recommended** that the Committee begin discussions for the replacements for Bushra, David and Luke at the meeting in October 2020.
- 8. The terms of office for the Academic staff members for Humanities and Social Sciences, Science and Engineering, and the School of Medicine and Dentistry Dr Darryn Mitussis,

Professor Wen Wang and Professor Mangala Patel respectively – will end on 30 September 2021. Dr Darryn Mitussis and Professor Mangala Patel are eligible to stand for re-election. In line with the decision of Governance Committee in October 2018 (minute 2018.006[e]), Professor Wen Wang will not be eligible for re-election as a member of the Senior Executive Team.

Governance Committee is asked to **approve** the second term of office for Celia Gough and **note** the updates on Council and Committee membership.



Council Membership 2020-21

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

The President and Principal Professor Colin Bailey

The President of the Students' Union 2020–21 Shamima Akter

NOMINEES OF THE PRINCIPAL

Tenure ends

Professor Colin Grant, Vice-Principal (International)

09 April 2023†

Dr Philippa Lloyd, Vice-Principal (Policy and Strategic Partnerships)

09 April 2023†

ELECTED MEMBERS [STAFF]

4 persons elected by the academic staff of the College, one from each Faculty and one from all academic staff:

Tenure ends

Professor Alison Blunt – Cross faculty

Dr Darryn Mitussis – Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Wen Wang – Science and Engineering

Dr Mangala Patel – School of Medicine and Dentistry

30 September 2021†

30 September 2021†

One person elected by staff other than academic staff from amongst their number:

Tenure ends

Tenure ends

TBC 31 August 2024†

EXTERNAL MEMBERS

Period of tenure: 4 years

12 persons, comprising a majority of the Council membership, who are neither staff nor students of the College, co-opted by the Council:

Ade Adefulu 04 March 2023† Monica Chadha (Vice-Chair) 04 February 2024 Lord Clement-Jones CBE (Chair) 30 April 2021† Celia Gough (Drapers' nominee) 01 September 2024 Stella Hall 06 July 2023 Isabelle Jenkins 07 January 2022† Bushra Nasir 31 August 2021 Dr Alix Pryde 31 December 2023† Luke Savage (Drapers' nominee) 31 January 2022 Melissa Tatton 31 December 2023† Peter Thompson 29 November 2021† **David Willis** 31 December 2021

[†] indicates provision for renewal of term of office for one further period of four years following the end of the current tenure.